top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:
No tags yet.

Untitled

Yesterday was one of those days, as a mom I found myself in a constant state of frustration.

My patience were next to nothing.

In my head I kept repeating over and over "patience is a virtue."

Parenthood is one of the greatest gifts ever given to me. Theo is such a blessing.

And so I post photos on instagram of our little life together. More than half with smiling faces on the other side of the lens.

Parenthood is the best thing I've ever done. Being a mom is the best thing I have ever been. But it can be so damn hard sometimes.

I scroll my newsfeed every now and again, to see photo's of other little faces, and little families. Most in which are smiling, as they sit in their none cluttered, cleaned and bright kitchen with the freshest looking flowers on the table and the cutest little plate of breakfast just waiting to be ate.

And so I strive to be as perfect, as perfect as the pictures my eyes are seeing everyday on social media.

But lets be honest, I sit in the middle of our living room floor with a million different little toys to try to keep Theo occupied. I cleaned my house for the first time in a long time today. I buy fake flowers, because I cannot keep any type of flower or plant alive. For breakfast... if I even eat breakfast I scrounge what ever is easiest to prepare and eat before Theo fusses again.

He has been pretty fussy these days.

I try to have the house cleaned every minute of every day, but then it's 4pm and I haven't even brushed my teeth yet.

I would try to have a breakfast that looks like it belongs in a magazine, but some days it's 1pm and I am just for the first time in the day figuring out what to eat.

I guess I forget that behind every photo are real people, a real mom, a real family.

A real baby that poops and pee's countless times in a day, that cry's sometimes for no reason. That sleeps when your awake and is awake when all you need is the tiniest amount of sleep to just function.

Sometime's I forget who is actually behind these gorgeous photo's on Instagram.

And I'm sure that there are a lot of people who think the same things when they look at my Instagram, because I rarely share photo's of all the clutter on the floor, the breakfast that I am actually eating, and my hair on top of my hair, with unbrushed teeth and sweatpants on.

It happens.

The point of this blog post is, I know that social media is a disguise of what our lives truly look like. So the next time I envy how clean someone's house is, and how well put together their kids look in their clean and matching outfits I'll remember that like me, they are real families.

If it weren't for the difficult days, we wouldn't appreciate the real good and easy days.


bottom of page